The Waikato is in the upper North Island. It is the fourth largest region in New Zealand. It covers the Waikato District, Hauraki, Coromandel Peninsula, the northern King Country, and parts of the Taupo and Rotorua Districts.

Size and growth

The region has experienced significant growth over the last decade. Hamilton City’s population is predicted to grow from 168,000 in 2018 to 198,000 in 2030. The region includes the high growth catchments of Hamilton West, Hamilton East, Cambridge and Te Kauwhata.

Catchment Plans within the National Education Growth Plan

The Waikato region has four individual catchment plans within the National Education Growth Plan.

See the Waikato region catchment plans.

What’s been happening in Waikato

Hamilton 2015 Review of the North-East Hamilton school network North-East Hamilton school network review (external link)  

Your say matters

Our communities are changing all the time. When we work with Boards of Trustees to come up with options to meet the demand of students in particular areas, we look at the whole network rather than individual schools.

Planning for future growth, identifying where the best use of space will be, and ensuring all local children and young people can attend their local school, underpins our decisions on options.

Your say in this matters. Sharing your views and listening to each other’s ideas, suggestions and feedback on options through engagement and consultation helps ensure the network of schools is in the best shape to offer quality education opportunities – now and into the future.

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback