Prime Minister’s Education Excellence Awards finalists announced

There are 15 finalists representing early learning services and schools selected for the prestigious Prime Minister’s Education Excellence Awards. They are from Auckland, the Bay of Plenty, Waikato, Wellington, Hawke’s Bay, Gisborne and Canterbury.

The finalists were selected from 127 entries. They are:

Excellence in Engaging

Papamoa Kindergarten, Tauranga

Kāiti School, Gisborne

Flaxmere College Y7 – 13, Hastings

Toru Fetū Kindergarten, Porirua

Excellence in Leading

Glenavon School, Auckland

Kāiti School, Gisborne

Flaxmere College Y7 – 13, Hastings

St Paul’s Collegiate School, Hamilton

Excellence in Teaching & Learning

Hoon Hay School, Christchurch

Flaxmere College Y7 – 13, Hastings

De La Salle College, Auckland

Rotorua Girls’ High School, Rotorua

2018 Education Focus Prize

William Colenso College, Napier

John Paul College, Rotorua

Te Aho o Te Kura Pounamu - Te Kura, Wellington

Ministry of Education Deputy Secretary for Early Learning and Student Achievement Ellen MacGregor-Reid says the finalists demonstrated excellent teaching practices that help raised achievement for children, tamariki and young people.

“I’d like to congratulate this year’s finalists in the Awards. We will celebrate their achievements and share their stories with the sector, communities, and whānau. I wish the finalists all the best for the announcement of the winners in July.”

A Judging Panel will visit the finalists during May and June. The winners will be announced at a ceremony in July, where each will receive a financial award and a professional development opportunity.

Find out more about what this year’s finalists have achieved by heading to the Prime Minister’s Education Excellence Awards website.

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback